Google has just enabled a feature called ‘Confidential Mode’ for emails that are more sensitive in nature.
With this new feature you’ll be able to set an expiry date, which when the time comes, the email that you sent will be deleted from the recipient’s inbox.
Emails sent in confidential mode will also limit certain actions. For example, the recipient will not be able to forward, copy, print or download the contents of your email.
You also have the option to set a password which can be sent via SMS to the receiver. Any confidential emails received outside of Gmail will require a password. These passwords are automatically generated and sent in a separate email to the recipient.
How to Use Gmail Confidential Mode
1. Create a new email.
2. Once you’re ready click the small lock with a clock icon at the bottom of your message.
3. Set up your preferences for the email and press save.
4. The message box will turn blue and a message will appear at the bottom of the email confirming that this email has been set up in confidential mode.
5. Check through your email, and once you’re ready, hit send.
6. The recipient should receive something that looks like this:
Or if they’re using another email client, for example Outlook, they’ll receive this: